« IPEX Construction | Main | The Beauty of the Human Spirit »


Eighth Annual Femi Memorial Hoops Tournament Raises $5K

Femi1This post was submitted by Marc Caserio, director of campus recreation.

On Saturday, March 22, the Department of Campus Recreation hosted its eighth annual Femi Memorial 3-on-3 Basketball Tournament. The event brought together more than 160 people to honor the life and legacy of Femi Ogunkorode, who died on March 23, 2006. Femi was a selfless individual who was beloved around campus. In the classroom, he excelled as a pharmacy student; but outside the classroom, he was a true leader who always had a smile on his face. He was a passionate individual who enjoyed playing sports, spending time with his friends and family – all of whom loved him dearly.  He was the type of person who would give you his last dollar if you needed it more.  He also had the uncanny ability to inspire others to achieve greatness in all aspects in life.  Femi is missed by many, but he will never be forgotten.     

Once again, this year’s competition at the tournament was fierce and exciting.  Every team came ready to play and battle for the ultimate prize of being crowned the 2014 Femi Memorial Champion. In the end, Tournament M.V.P. Winston Robinson led the Hoop Kings to victory over Team Buckets.  

A special thank you to the Art of Medicine (Jack Korbutov PharmD'11) for the amazing contribution.  With the support of Jack and many others, the tournament raised $5,000.00 for the Femi Memorial Fund.  

I would also like to share an email Femi’s father sent regarding the tournament:

“On behalf of my family I like to thank you and your friends at the recreational center immensely for all you have done and still doing in memory of our son Femi.  Since his demise you and your friends have continued to make good memories of him in a manner that we will not easily forget.  We will continue to appreciate the very excellent gestures that you have come to symbolize with the annual games.  My daughter told me that the games last Saturday was a huge success. Thank you for all the efforts.  The good lord will reward your great efforts. Once more thank you for everything.” - John Ogunkorode

Kevin Abraham P'12, Diana Ajala, Pauline Aziz, Jarwin Bolante, Marc Caserio, Puja Desai, Brendan Devine, Victoria Drews, Jackie Dunning, Kelessery Fanny PharmD‘09, Megan Fasolka, David Gallara, Chris Hoeninnger, Danielle Hoguet, Spencer Hyland, Ashley Jackson, Cyril John, Princy John, Jack and Dylan Kerwin (the twins), Marie Kiechel, Stella Koiki, Jack Korbutov PharmD‘11, Pat Kugel, Judy Lam, Chris Mansi, Matt Mansi, Rachel Martin, Jon McGill, Julie Mathew, Bhakti Padmar, Shreena Patel, Chirag Patel PharmD ‘09, Bijal Patel PharmD‘13,  Jesse Phillips, Markeith Patterson DPT'12, Keren Poulous, Erika Redden, Amber Reiley, Alex Cortez-Ruiz, Richa Shah, Neal Sheth, Mike Stasi, Daphne Torre, Shea West PharmD‘11, and Megan Wolf.

Wale Adefemi PhB'11, Shola Cooke, Yemi Adefemi, Oluwaseun Afuwape, Jeff Comitz, Kimani Brown, Paul Oglesby, Stephon Vernon, Greg Nealis, Leo Pablo, Dan Nealis, Jeff Estima, Joe Ellis, Dylan Carroll, Mason Carroll, Coley Dyer, Daiquane Peterson, Nate Clapper, Kenny Fomengia, Sebastian Nantermet, Snow Kuruuula, Anthony Hynes, Craig Ferguson, Keith Densun, Tracy Hopkins, Byron Marshall, Cameron Strong, Andre Pierce, Marc Storb, Marco Tang, Kolechi Okezie, Jamal Cummings, Evan Raddiffe, Chima Nurakpudo, Brian Koronkiewicz, Christian Ruffin, Rob Pfleging, Akil Vicks CS'10, Jarod Frazier PhB'10, Eddie Yu PharmD’13,  Veraaj Garachh PharmD’13, Vinay Daryani PharmD’13, Josh Kim PharmD'13, Paul Simms, James Boothe, Juelz King, Booke Massey, James Jones, Don Cummings, Michael Lenahan, Jacob Bastoni, Brian Torres, Greg Foster, Brian Boyle PhB'13, Chad Glickstein, Claude Chalk, Bashier Barnes, Darnell Willingham, Jack Nelson, Donson Quick, Bruce Stephens, Jevon Nelson, Jevon Owens, Alec Bar, Dan Palommella, Tim Keough, Rich Romano, Bob Zanneo, Joe Zelez, Pat Foley, Kyle Hynes, Winston Robinson, CJ Scott, Thomas Lahart, Lennon Alexander, Diyaaldin Kelley, Chris Caserio, Dale Reed Cantrell Fletcher, Joe Wagner, Mike Schmersahl, James Bude, Rob Schubach, Scott Coleman BI'11, Scott Cahayla PharmD'12, Jordan Ahn, Mark Slater, Khalil Jaffer, Ali Ladak, Imran Ladak, Abbas Ismal, and Mike Winters.

Raffle Winners:
$150 Amazon Gift Card: Jon Ngu
$75 Garces Gift Certificate: Kevin Abraham
$75 Garces Gift Certificate: Joe Canaday
iPad Air: Candy Coccia

Art of Medicine (Jack Korbutov PharmD'11), T-House, Campus Recreation, SGA, and Michele Albert

Wale Adefemi PhB'11, Marc Caserio, Carrie Collins, Maggie Devine-Pennock, Kelessery Fanny PharmD'09, Chirag Patel


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Eighth Annual Femi Memorial Hoops Tournament Raises $5K:


Post a comment.

Comments are moderated, and will not appear on this weblog until the author has approved them.

If you have a TypeKey or TypePad account, please Sign In.

© 2011 University of the Sciences in Philadelphia • 600 South 43rd Street • Philadelphia, PA 19104 • 215.596.8800